Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


music-sound-waves

I’m blessed right now to be in a season of peace and preparation. Usually I can be found running around and resembling a chicken that has met its demise!

However after following the call to leave my job and enter into ministry I find I am in a place of space. Not a void but a spacious place where I can stretch and be stretched in prayer, word, and worship. A place where I can listen intently to what Father is saying.

People ask me “what do you do with your time?” and  “don’t you get bored?” the answer is a resounding no! It’s like I’m learning to breathe deeply again, to sit and wait, to dwell and to listen with my full attention on Him.

These questions and comments made me realize just how uncomfortable we can sometimes be with space.

Last week we were in an early morning corporate prayer gathering where Holy Spirit walked into the room and all we could do was wait in complete silence. No one fidgeted etc because we were so overwhelmed by His presence. We were like the priests in Chronicles that couldn’t minister.

Often I’ve been in meetings where Holy Spirit descends like a dove and the worship leader bless them just runs right on with another song like they have to “do” something when really all God wants is for them to break open the alabaster jar of their hearts and come before Him.

There is a time for singing, there is a time for shouting, there is a time and a season for everything under the sun but there is also a time for silence.

Sometimes I get so fed up of noise that it’s a relief to my ears to turn off every outside man-made noise and just breathe in the silence. My senses sometimes just needs a break.

The bible is full of words and direction about silence

Psalm 62:5 “For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him”

Habakkuk 2:20″ But the Lord is in his holy temple; let all the earth keep silence before him.”

Revelation 8:1 When the Lamb opened the seventh seal, there was silence in heaven for about half an hour.

So often I hear people say ” I struggle so much to hear God” “He’s not speaking to me” Well maybe, just maybe He’s actually waiting for us to posture ourselves by coming aside, closing the door and turning down the volume of life so that He can speak.

Friend we are in incredible days that are about to get amazing as we see signs and wonders upon the earth like we’ve never seen before, there will be salvation and freedom of the captives, the prodigals will all start returning. Are you ready? Do you know what part God is calling you to play? Have you heard from Him lately or have you been too busy running around like that poor chicken?

It’s time to make a change, to come aside and listen not just with our ears but with our hearts and our spirits too. To let Him speak to us, direct us and share His heart for us and others.

Peter’s shadow was so anointed because he’s been overshadowed by the one who pours out that anointing. It’s so much more about what happens in the secret place than it can ever be about what we do in the public place. Yet when we allow Him to inhabit us through prayer and coming aside the end result is powerful and lives are incredibly changed.

So my friend taste and see today that The Lord is indeed very good. Be intentional in your pursuit of Him fr who He is and not just what he can do.

Seek first The Kingdom and everything else will given to you.

