Tags

, , , ,


Hand_in_Hand_1_bewerkt

I’m not sure you could call this a blog really. It’s more like many questions of something that has been running though my head and I’m still trying to make sense of them. However I thought I’d share them with you. It’s good to share!

Like many others my heart has been torn in two by the horrific scenes of hopelessness and sometimes death as migrants try desperately to find refuge from the threat of violence and abuse. 

I was trying to figure out what we could do, what our governments could do and whilst my heart said let them in, every one of them, my head said how? How can we feed, care for and house so many displaced people? In the midst of this I heard the voice of The Lord clearly ask “Do you really believe that I cannot provide for these precious ones that are so dear to my heart?”

Then he led me to Psalm 68:5 (The) Father of the fatherless and protector of widows, is God in his holy habitation. The question I then found myself asking is “what if God is in that boat in the very middle of all those broken and displaced lives?” Not just present to help them but as one of them………………

What if that’s His place of holy habitation? You see when Christ was born they didn’t believe it because they were looking for a king in all his finery. Christ came into the world with no place to lay his head but a manger. No one wanted to offer His parents a room. Very quickly He was displaced and on the run with His parents because the opposition wanted to kill Him. Sounding familiar?

Isaiah 60:3-4 says Nations will come to your light, and kings to the brightness of your dawn. Lift up your eyes and look about you: All assemble and come to you; your sons come from afar, and your daughters are carried on the hip.

What if as in verse 1 the glory of the Lord is upon us that people are being drawn to us, what if this next move of God was tied up with us opening up our “gates” by homing, feeding, clothing, and providing medicines for these? 

What if by doing so we were doing the opposite of Matthew 25:44? After all the two men on the road to Emmaus didn’t know they’d walked with Jesus until He did something spiritual like the breaking of bread, yet their hearts “burned” within them as though they recognized something about him but couldn’t quite put their finger on it. 

God doesn’t always announce His glory with clouds and smoke sometimes He just quietly moves in. 

I’m not for one minute saying This is a move of God or even that revival in our nation is dependent upon it but there’s something deep within me that is stirring my spirit to pray and seek Him that we may not miss when He does move in our nation and nations because we have a pre conceived idea of what it should look like. 

Let’s not be so busy making plans behind closed doors that we miss the “Hosanna” of His coming! 

Hands

